jump to navigation

Color and more color February 27, 2007

Posted by McStorian in Uncategorized.
trackback

Wow, I’ll be honest – the sites and tools for this week are pretty amazing.  Honestly, as a self-proclaimed “dude,” color matching isn’t my strong-point.  When I go shirt & tie shopping, I must always take a female along or else disaster ensues.  In fact, color was probably my biggest fear when it came to webdesign.  Despite my CSS frustrations, learning code is like learning a trade – or more specifically, a language.  Coloring, despite it’s elementary connotations, is definitely where true art comes into play.  So, these sites, like many others, helped me immensely.  Yet, now I’m faced with so many possibilities, that I think having the advantage of so precisely tweaking my palettes makes this process even more time-consuming.  Without knowledge and ability, it’s easy!  I just slap a few different shades of blue up there and think, “well, that’s the best I know how to do.”  But with a plethora of options and tools, now I’m confronted with about 800,000 really nice palettes.  Oh well – I guess that means I better get to work!

Comments»

1. Laura - February 27, 2007

Just want to point out, since I’m currently employed as a web designer, that yes indeed this design work can be time-consuming. It also can be hard work. It’s like cooking. Sure, you can throw together some pasta and sauce and end up with something like spaghetti. You can even buy some fancy sauce and produce a pretty pleasing and tasty Alfredo. But if you want to make a really good bolognese, you’ll need a little more time, patience, and skill (whether inherent or acquired). So, be patient with yourself, at least with these 800,000 options, you get a better idea of which ones serve your needs and which don’t.

Also, I was excited to see your tab for your Clio II portfolio. Then I found that the page has only a comment form with a link to your portfolio. Then I found that the link to your portfolio isn’t actually your portfolio. I’m confused…

2. veprek.com » Blog Archive » I dream of color - February 27, 2007

[…] also added on James’s blog that web design is indeed hard work and time-consuming. It seems similar to writing and editing a […]

3. B.A. - March 6, 2007

I’m in the same boat on colors…although the color tools seemed to narrow the choices, I was mightily impressed by Ahmed’s (Polyglot mystery) simple white scheme at chapati mystery. I think it looks great and would simplify things. check out http://www.chapatimystery.com/

4. Taking the Leap—Going non-Hosted « Through Hiker - March 6, 2007

[…] I commented that I’m thinking about “bailing out on color” on James’ blog—I like the neutral POV with a mostly white blog/website. Although I mentioned Tad’s Blog needs some color…maybe a header will help? Chapati Mystery has a good mixture of minmal color in the header and mostly white content area. […]

5. markofando - October 2, 2007

Want to start your private office arms race right now?

I just got my own USB rocket launcher 🙂 Awsome thing.

Plug into your computer and you got a remote controlled office missile launcher with 360 degrees horizontal and 45 degree vertival rotation with a range of more than 6 meters – which gives you a coverage of 113 square meters round your workplace.
You can get the gadget here: http://tinyurl.com/2qul3c

Check out the video they have on the page.

Cheers

Marko Fando


Leave a Reply

