jump to navigation

Things I’ve learned . . . May 8, 2007

Posted by McStorian in Uncategorized.
trackback

Here’s a list of a few of the tetrabazillion things I’ve learned in the past few months from undertaking this project:

1. My hair is greyer . . . a lot greyer.

2. Beating one’s head against a desk/wall/computer monitor actually does help because it gives you time away from your code.  Once you’ve successfully visited the office nurse and applied ice to your wounds, you quickly and easily see the error that’s been plaguing you for what seems like decades.

3. Organization really really matters.  After making a 7-page website that’s not even halfway complete, I realized so many organizational things that I need to do.  For instance, I was uploading the header and footer images for each individual page before it dawned on me that I could create a “common-images” folder and just always draw from there.  Then I realized that instead of transferring over all of my header and footer CSS for each page, I could’ve just created one CSS file named “header-footer.css” and just linked that to each of my pages.  Then, when I wanted to change something, I’d only have to go to one place rather than going to each page, or could just change classes on the individual pages if I didn’t want to affect them all.  I have no idea why it took me so long to think of that – I’m sure I read it early in the semester anyway, but better late than never. 

4. It’s taken me a while to think outside of the old table-based way of building sites but I think I’m finally, slowly getting there.

5. There’s a lot I have yet to learn but I can’t wait to tackle something new.

6. This isn’t really anything I’ve learned – but thanks everyone for your comments!  Seriously, they were a big help. 

Comments»

1. cassieglover22979 - April 9, 2016

Hi to every one, the contents present at this web page arenreally amazing for people knowledge, well, keep up thennice work fellows. Click https://zhoutest.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

